2012 Trop Rock Music Awards

Posted on Thursday, August 30th, 2012 at 12:43 am
Salty Soul Jeep Shirts

Trop Rock Music Awards

Here are the Nominees for the 2012 Trop Rock Music Awards.

In no particular order:

Male Vocalist

Jerry Diaz

Howard Livingston

Rob Mehl

Kelly McGuire

James (Sunny Jim) White

Female Vocalist

Cindy Walsh

Heather Sneeringer of Tropical Soul

Lenore Troia

Michelle Becker of Latitude

Dani Hoy


Conch Fritters


Tropical Soul

Coconut Radio


Jerry Diaz & Hanna’s Reef

The Boat Drunks

Jimmy Parrish & The Ocean Waves Band

Jim Morris & The Big Bamboo Band

Jimmy & The Parrots


Brent Burns

Jimmy & The Parrots

Howard Livingston & MM 24

James ( SunnyJim) White

Jerry Daiz & Hanna’s Reef


Bob Karwin

Steve Tolliver

Jerry Diaz

Rob Mehl


Brent Burns- Dont’ Come Knockin if the Tiki Hut’s Rockin

Jimi Pappas- Hello Mr. Sunshine

Bob Karwin – Life On Lotus Street

Paul Roush – Today’s The Day

Jimmy & The Parrots – Back to the Bayou


Paul Roush – I wanna Be Howie

Jimi Pappas – Watermelons

Brent Burns- Dont’ Come Knockin if the Tiki Hut’s Rockin

Bob Karwin – Goodbye Captain

Steve Tolliver & Trop Rock Junkies-Take me Back to Havana


Dennis Davis

Steve Tolliver & The Trop Rock Junkies

Dani Hoy

Jimi Pappas

John Friday


Jimi Pappas- Drums, The Big Bamboo Band

James (Sunny Jim) White- Guitar & Steel Pan, Various Artists

Mark Mereles- Steel Pan, Hanna’s Reef

Dusty Barber – Lead Guitar, Conch Fritters

Colin Ward – Lead Guitar, Trop Rock Junkies

Radio Station – Mid Size Market

Beach Front Radio – internet

Conch Republic Radio – internet

Trop Rock Radio 1290 – Panama City Beach, Fl

Radio Station – Small Market

Island Dreams – internet

Songwriter Radio – internet

Southernmost Radio – internet

Permanent Vacation Radio – internet

Latitudes & Attutudes Seafaring Radio – internet

Radio Show

Amish Beach Party — DJ Jeff Allen (Beachfront Radio)

Big Burrito Radio — Mad Marty (WLRA- Romeoville, IL / Syndication)

Bob Karwin Report – Bob Karwin – Beach Front Radio

Pyrates Behaving Badly — Capt’n Cali & Cheeto Gyrl — (Beachfront Radio)

Island Time Radio Show – DK the DJ/Amo Bennett (WBWC — Cleveland, OH / Syndication)

Live Music Venue

Big Owl Tiki Bar — Grasonville, MD

Smokin’ Tuna — Key West, FL

Lulu’s Homeport Marina — Gulf Shores, AL

Nav-a-Gator — Lake Suzy, FL

Tropical Isle/Top of the Trop — New Orleans, LA

House Concert

Tom & Jill Melendez / The Batcave — Shiloh, IL

Fred & Sara Guerrero / Isla Bella — Floresville, TX

Terri & Marianne Higgins — Parrish, FL

Mark & Sharon Leverett / The Yard — Tampa, FL

Tami Tower — Port Charlotte, FL


Flipperstock — St. Louis, MO

Panama City Rendezvous — Panama City Beach, FL

Pardi Gras — New Orleans LA.

Phins to the West — Laughlin, NVLA

Music on the Bay — Tampa Bay, Fl

Fan of The Year


“I Can Award for Community Service



The Trop Rock Music Awards was established in 2007 to formally recognize the hard work, promotion and preservation of Trop Rock Music by the artists, songwriters, radio, events and live music venues through whom the genre continues to evolve.  Over the years, the program has grown to include 18 categories.

You must be a member of the Trop Rock Music Association to vote in the Trop Rock Music Awards.

Voting Process:

In an effort to reach as many artists as possible we we sent out surveys to all the artists in our data base.  We also sent emails to Trop Rock radio DJ’s asking them to forward this survey to the Trop Rock Artists in their database.

The surveys were sent out during the month of May and into June. The survey results will be listed as choices in the “CD of the Year” and “Song of the Year” categories in the Nomination Ballots.

Once the Nomination ballots have closed and votes have been counted, the top 5 vote-getters in each category must be reviewed and approved by the board based on the guidelines listed on the Academy Guidelines page.

The TRMA Artist Review Board will determine if an artist nominee meets the artist membership requirements. Any Artist Nominee who is approved by the board and is not a member of the Trop Rock Music Association must become a TRMA member in order to go to on to the Final Ballot. They will be notified upon board approval, and will then have 15 days to join the TRMA. If the nominated artist declines to join the association, the nomination will go to the next highest qualifying vote-getter.

All previous Trop Rock Music Award winners are automatically eligible for nomination if their TRMA membership is current. If not, they will receive the same notification to renew their membership.

Trop Rock Music Association

Salty Soul Jeep Shirt
Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.