Gov’t Mule’s ‘Dub Side of the Mule’

Posted on Wednesday, March 25th, 2015 at 3:16 am
Salty Soul Jeep Shirts

Guitar God, Warren Haynes inspires many with his ability to perform polished jams from any brand of Rock n’Roll, and an incomparable roster of legends he has collaborated alongside. Now his band Gov’t Mule has announced two new releases scheduled for April, including Dub Side Of The Mule, an archived set featuring Toots Hibbert!


After playing together for 20 years, the group of Veteran Rock musicians known as Gov’t Mule have never played the same show twice. With a deep catalog of originals and the ability to draw countless cuts from other band’s beloved repertoire, the Gov’t Mule experience can change night to night. Often times during shows musicians will sit-in on a couple tracks or the band may even play a themed set a with a special guest.

One experience of note was created back in 2006. For a New Years Eve show in New York City at the infamous Beacon Theatre, Gov’t Mule treated fans to a performance that featured three-plus hours of music. Played that night was several sets of Mule standards and covers, including a 1-hour reggae set featuring Toots Hibbert, the legendary founder of Toots The Maytals, as well as a finale with special appearances by Gregg Allman Friends and John Popper of Blues Traveler. As many are, the show was recorded and canned. But now, all 34 tracks have been remixed and mastered!

Following December’s release of Dark Side of the Mule, and the recent release of Sco-Mule, the group’s live collaboration with guitarist John Scofield and just preceding the release of Stoned Side of the Mule, a Gov’t Mule set of Rolling Stones covers, this next addition to the bands 20th anniversary archival series focuses on the the night’s unique pairing, spotlighting the band’s work with reggae, aptly titled Dub Side of the Mule.

Playing through the mid-night hour, Warren and Toots performed a total of 10 songs together. Included are many of Toots’ revered songs including “Pressure Drop,” “54-46 Was My Number,” “Reggae Got Soul,” and the Easy Star All-Stars’ arrangement of Radiohead’s “Let Down.” Gov’t Mule book-ends the set with reggae versions of 2 of their own tracks. The set opens with “I’m A Ram”, a track that was originally released as part of Gov’t Mules Mighty High, a 2007 album that features reggae and dub versions of Mule classics. Closing the set is a reggae rendition of Warrens adored, “Soulshine.”

Scheduled to release on April 7th via Warren Haynes’ Evil Teen Records Dub Side of the Mule will be available in three formats. A standard edition CD of the show’s entire second set with Toots – A standard edition vinyl made of two 180-gram vinyl’s of the Toots set with a download code for the digital files – and a deluxe edition including 3 CDs of the entire 3-hour performance, plus a DVD of only the entire reggae set with Toots. Available for pre-order until April 6, 2015 at 11:59PM EST, with the Purchase of any Dub Side of the Mule media item, fans can add a Dub Side printed change tray and/or rolling papers for only $5 and a Dub Side T-Shirt for just $15! For more information click HERE. Fans in Europe can pre-order the CD/DVD and LP from

For more about these artists and information about their music, check out the details below.

Deluxe 3-CD and DVD set tracklist:

Disc 1
1.) Thorazine Shuffle
2.) Larger Than Life
3.) She Said, She Said
4.) Tomorrow Never Knows
5.) Whiter Shade Of Pale
6.) Dolphineus
7.) Painted Silver Light
8.) Sco-Mule
9.) So Weak, So Strong
10.) Play With Fire
11.) Unring The Bell

Region Free DVD
1.) I’m A Ram
2.) 54-46 Was My Number*
3.) Hard To Handle*
4.) True Love Is Hard To Find*
5.) Pressure Drop*
6.) Let Down*
7.) I’ve Got Dreams To Remember*
8.)Reggae Got Soul*
9.) Hard Road*
10.) Happy New Year
11.) Turn On Your Love Light*
12.) Reggae Soulshine

Disc 2
1.) I’m A Ram
2.) 54-46 Was My Number*
3.) Hard To Handle*
4.) True Love Is Hard To Find*
5.) Pressure Drop*
6.) Let Down*
7.) I’ve Got Dreams To Remember*
8.) Reggae Got Soul*
9.) Hard Road*
10.) Happy New Year
11.) Turn On Your Love Light*
12.) Reggae Soulshine

(*) Featuring Toots Hibbert
(^) Featuring Gregg Allman Friends
(#) Featuring John Popper

Disc 3
1.) Sweet Feeling^
2.) Just Like A Woman^
3.) I Feel So Bad^#
4.) Dreams^
5.) Million Miles From Yesterday
6.) Endless Parade
7.) It’s A Man’s Man’s Man’s World
8.) Ramblin’ Gamblin’ Man#
9.) It Hurts Me Too#
10.) Goin’ Out West#

Related links:
Gov’t Mule Website
Gov’t Mule Facebook
Toots Hibbert Facebook

Article By: Aaron Solomon

WATCH: The first premiere from Gov’t Mule’s Dub Side of the Mule, “Pressure Drop” Live ft. Toots Hibbert.

WATCH: “Reggae Soulshine” from Gov’t Mule’s Tail of 2 Cities DVD

Listen to the Easy Star All-Stars’ arrangement of Radiohead’s “Let Down” With Warren Haynes and Toots Hibbert.

This entry was posted on Wednesday, March 25th, 2015 at 12:16 am and is filed under Daily News.
You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed.

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Salty Soul Jeep Shirt

Article source:

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.