Gussie Clarke’s Reggae Anthology

Posted on Monday, October 19th, 2015 at 3:10 am

On October 9th, 17 North Parade, the vintage branch of VP Records, released a 2 CD/DVD music catalog that spans over 40 years of music from iconic reggae producer Gussie Clarke. Including hits from artists such as: Augustus Pablo, Big Youth, Gregory Isaacs, Dennis Brown, The Mighty Diamonds, Bunny Wailer, J.C. Lodge, Shabba Ranks, Sizzla and more, this anthology is a must-have for classic reggae enthusiasts.

In the early 1970s, Clarke’s breakthrough success with deejay-style vocalists like Big Youth and I Roy put him at the forefront of the new rebel sound because he was able to blend this style with more instrumental records.
This double-disc compilation spans Gussie Clarke’s catalog of hit productions from the 1970s to today, accompanied by a DVD that takes an in-depth look of the man behind the controls. All the music is re-mastered and coupled with deluxe packaging and extensive liner notes. In addition, a vinyl companion piece of the same name is available, which features exclusive tracks not available on the CD and digital version.

The first portion of the anthology includes a previously unreleased version of Clarke’s 1972 debut, U-Roy’s “The Higher The Mountain” featuring Big Youth, plus a never-before-heard extended version of Dennis Brown Lennie Hibbert‘s “To The Foundation.” The set carries into more classics like Augustus Pablo’s “No Entry,” Hortense Ellis’ “Unexpected Places” as well as the influential 1981 Mighty Diamonds hit “Pass the Kouchie.”

The second half of the collection delves into Clarke’s productions during the late 1980s when he launched his own Music Works studio. This was around the same time when the digital reggae era began, so the studio was fully equipped and ready to adopt the new style, but was still able to maintain the traditional roots reggae sound with musicians recording live instrumentation. Standout tracks include Dennis Brown Gregory Isaacs’ massive radio hit “Big All Around,” Home T, Cocoa Tea Shabba Ranks’ “Pirates Anthem,” and Gregory Isaacs’ 1988 summer smash “Rumours.” Clark was always able to evolve to the times and remain one of the most consistent hitmakers in the business.

To get your hands and ears on this iconic collection, you can place your order on iTunes or through VP Records HERE!

Gussie Clarke – From The Foundation – CD Track Listing

Disc 2:
1.) Larry Alvin – Throw Me Corn
2.) Tetrack – Trappers
3.) Pam Hall – Late At Nights
4.) Freddie McGregor Dennis Brown – Raggamuffin
5.) Dennis Brown Gregory Isaacs – Big All Around
6.) Gregory Isaacs The Mighty Diamonds – Rough Neck
7.) Gregory Isaacs – Rumours
8.) J.C. Lodge – Telephone Love
9.) Gregory Isaacs – Mind Yu Dis
10.) Home T, Cocoa Tea, Shabba Ranks – Pirates Anthem
11.) Deborah Glasgow Shabba Ranks – Mr. Lover Man
12.) Krystal Shabba Ranks – Twice My Age
13.) The Mighty Diamonds, Bunny Wailer, J.C. Lodge, Genieve Bailey, Yami Bolo, Dennis Brown, Mutabaruka, The Grace Thrillers, Judy Mowatt, Carlene Davis, Mikey Spice Richie Stephens – Get Well Soon
14.) Cocoa Tea Richie Stephens – Gang War
15.) Daddy Rings Cocoa Tea – Herb Fi Bun
16.) Sizzla – Put All My Trust In Jah
17.) Mey Vidal – Ting A Ling Ling

Gussie Clarke – From The Foundation – Vinyl Track Listing

Related Links:
VP Records Website
VP Records Facebook

Article By: Andrew Aroche

Listen: The Mighty Diamonds – “Pass The Kutchie”

This entry was posted on Monday, October 19th, 2015 at 12:10 am and is filed under Daily News.
You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed.

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Salty Soul Jeep Shirt

Article source:

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.